The Employee Perspective

 of TLNT summarizes David Witt’s Blanchard LeaderChat blog report on the top 10 reasons employees quit an employer. A PwC study of 19,000+ employees who completed exit interviews with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) clients show that, while employers tend to believe it’s the pay, employees have a different perspective:


People Leave Managers, Not Companies

Better compensation is just a single aspect of why people leave an organization. 

5 of the 10 reasons are directly related to supervisor skills, including recognition for contributions.  In fact, in most cases it is because people want “to work for an organization that is fair, trustworthy, and deserving of an individual’s best efforts. Some of the other issues that drove people away include growth, meaningful work, supervisor skills, workload balance, fairness, and recognition.

Author and consultant Leigh Branham, partnered with PwC to analyze the results, and found that trust, hope, worth, and competence are at the core of most voluntary separations.  When employees are not getting their needs met in these key areas, they begin to look elsewhere.

What Can An Employer Do?

Witt’s advice?

Don’t take your people for granted.  While you may not be able to provide the pay increases you were able to in the past, there is nothing stopping you from showing that you care for your people, are interested in their long term development, and are committed to their careers.”

Blanchard Leader Chat provides some self check questions an employer can ask itself.  Employers should consider how your employees would respond if asked to rate their work environment  in each of the following areas:

  • Am I able to grow and develop my skills on the job and through training?
  • Do I have advancement or career progress opportunities for higher earnings?
  • Does my job makes good use of my talents and is it challenging?
  • Do I receive the necessary training to perform my job capably?
  • Can I see the end results of my work?
  • Do I receive regular constructive feedback on my performance?
  • Am I confident that if I work hard, do my best, demonstrate commitment, and make meaningful contributions, I will be recognized and rewarded accordingly?

Snap! principle of employer loyalty:

Supervisor people management skills trump all other loyalty factors


